India was elected to the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) as a non-permanent member of the Asia-Pacific category for two years on Wednesday night (17 June) at night.

India was elected unopposed as one of the non-permanent members of the UN Security Council after 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly. The minimum voting requirement was 128.

India worked seven times earlier as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992, and 2011-2012. We received overwhelming support and TS Tirumurti, Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, said in a video message:

We have said the profound humility of the tremendous confidence that the UN member states have raised in India. ” A critical juncture We are confident of what it was in COVID- and the post-COVID world India will continue to provide leadership and a new direction for a reformed multilateral system. ”

India was elected without opposition as it was the only candidate in the Asia Pacific Group (APG). India returned to the UN Security Council a decade after the beginning of January 2021. The last time India served on the UN Security Council was between 2011 and 2012, India’s election to the UN Security Council was approved in June 2019 by APG after Afghanistan gave up its seat to India .

The elections were held at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, which was inaugurated for the first time since 15 March due to the outbreak of coronavirus COVID-19.

Besides India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway, she also won the UN Security Council elections on Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “India elected to a non-permanent seat in UN Security Council”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *